IMDb > Desperado (1995) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Desperado
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Desperado More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 21:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 204 reviews in total 

74 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

Extremely likable action movie.

9/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
30 January 2004

Sharp knives, big guns, awesome fights, great dialog, wonderful characters and Selma Hayek looks better then ever. These are just a few reasons why I like this movie.

"Desperado" is more than an action movie. It has tons of fun in it which makes the movie extremely likable to watch. The action is way over the top but it works very well since the movie obviously doesn't take itself serious. It's fun and cool to watch at the same time.

"Desperado" is a kind of movie that really needs no story and basically there isn't really any. All the fun characters, dialog and action sequences make you forget that there isn't really a story. The Quentin Tarantino cameo is especially entertaining and so are almost every Mexican bad guy that are all in one way or another over the top.

A must see, in my opinion.

9/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

59 out of 75 people found the following review useful:

plot,we don't need no stinking plot

10/10
Author: randall pennington (rpennington9@comcast.net) from Chattanooga, Tennessee
13 April 2004

I've heard many people say that they couldn't follow the plot of this flick.I think they totally missed the point of this movie.ITS AN ACTION MOVIE.thats the whole plot.Its called lets find the bad guy,and his henchmen,and kill them.I thought it was absolute genius.Skip the plot,and go straight to the action.Banderas was pure fire.All his emotions smouldering just beneath the surface.The stunts and effects were first rate and extremely entertaining.Even the extras did great work.I would recommend this film to anyone who is wanting some great entertainment.Mark me don't go looking for some Oscar winning dramatic performances.But it is fun,pure unadulterated fun.Also the photography is absolutely first rate.As is the almost Kubrickesque atmosphere of the film.Ydnar

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Can You Say 'Preposterous?" (But Lots Of Fun)

7/10
Author: ccthemovieman-1 from United States
10 March 2006

There are so many adjectives one could use describing this film, I wouldn't know where to begin to start. I'll just try to limit them to a few. The headline here states one of them. Others could be "ludicrous," "fun," "amusing," "stupid," etc. You get the idea.

Robert Rodriguez took the profits from his first film, "El Mariachi," and continued on with the story now with more funds, so he made it glossier, more explosive, added some name actors and, of course, way overdid it, making it almost a cartoon it is so outrageous. He continued this with the third film, "Once Upon A Time In Mexico" which is even more of the same.

If something worked subtly the first time, filmmakers think that to improve on it is by bombarding the audience with it the next time. They don't know when enough is enough and, boy, does that apply to Rodriguez. He does keep you entertained, though, once you check your brains at the door and begin watching the show. However, all this excess makes it lose any credibility "El Mariachi" might have built up with the first show in this trilogy.

Whether the movie is really dumb or its just tongue-in-cheek humor by Rodriguez, it has super-style and fun to watch. Talk about stylish! No wonder Quentin Tarantino and he are good friends and the latter has a guest appearance in the film. They both love having fun with the cameras.

The first eight minutes let you know what you are in for: outrageousness. It's an 8-minute scene at a bar involving a story told by Steve Buscemi. It's one of the highlights of the movie.

Antonio Bandaras and Selyma Hayek are the "good guys" but they aren't exactly Billy Graham and Mother Teresa. If they are the good guys, you can imagine how evil the "bad guys" are? Speaking of them, two of the toughest- looking hombres in the business are chief among the villains: Joaquim de Almeida and Danny Trejo.

Some of the action scenes are so outrageous you laugh out loud. My favorite was a guy shooting rockets out of his guitar case! As that tells you, it's just a wild ride: 103 minutes of south-of-the-border Rodriguez-Tarantino lunacy and despite what may sound like a bunch of insults, I always have fun watching this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Give me the strength to be what I was, and forgive me for what I am.

Author: Andy (film-critic) from Bookseller of the Blue Ridge
18 September 2004

Sinking us back into the gritty life of a tormented guitar player, Rodriguez sets the stage for an amazing film. This time, Antonio Banderas steps into the role of the troubled Mariachi as he continues his quest to rid Mexico of the corrupted drug lord that destroyed his life. Using friends like Steve Buscemi, he finds the town that is harboring his villain named Bucho. The Mariachi's form of questioning normally leads to several dead, a cinematic gun fight, and some classic Sergio Leone verbiage. Unfortunately, our hero does not escape unscathed and finds himself being healed by the likes of Carolina, a bookstore beauty played by Selma Hayek. Together they build a steamy relationship that will help our Mariachi reach his final destination.

As more gunfights, explosions, and blood rock this independent blockbuster, we soon discover a hidden secret about our hero, one that could change the course of his destination.

This was an impressive second outing by director Robert Rodriguez. While I was worried that Hollywood would have drained too much of his imagination, it was instead the direct opposite. Hollywood gave him the tools to build an amazing 'sequel'. While different, yet the similar to his independent feature 'El Mariachi', Rodriguez sets the stage for a roller coaster film that makes you hold your breath and pray for more. He has taken elements from his first film and expanded them to new levels. Banderas is perfect as our 'new' Mariachi and the chemistry between him and Selma Hayek cannot be contested. Banderas' ability to control this enraged man was spectacular. They worked as our two main focuses of this film. Coupled with some humorous moments with Steve Buscemi and Quentin Tarantino, this film successfully stood on its own two feet thanks not just to the action, but the actors in their respective roles.

Finally, Rodriguez is a genius behind the camera. He is able to give us exactly the right amount of action, drama, and comedy for our liking. He is the proverbial salad bar of cinema. While giving us this deeply rooted character hell-bent on destroying this drug lord, he also lets our imaginations wander with his comical and cartoonish action sequences. The scenes of men flying through the air after being shot are somewhat comical, yet completely Rodriguez. He has successfully created this world that is all uniquely his own. Rodriguez has done this by giving the world depth and outside characters. He builds suspense and also suspicion all at the same time.

Overall, an amazing film (in case you haven't noticed) that should be found in nearly everyone's film collection.

Grade: ***** out of *****

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

I absolutely, absolutely, ABSOLUTELY love it!

7/10
Author: Dockelektro from Portugal
30 September 2001

A true 90's cowboy movie, everyone who saw El Mariachi could foresee that this picture would take the concept to the top. Fast-paced, greatly shot, incredibly edited, this movie refuses to take itself seriously and is well-succeeded in so. Antonio Banderas is the perfect Mariachi, adding a new depth to the first movie's main character. He seeks revenge. Revenge for all the things they did to him. And he will get it, the easy way or the hard way. Fellow portuguese Joaquim de Almeida is Bucho, the villain, whose relationship with El Mariachi turns out quite surprising near the end. Until they both meet, there will be much gun-slinging action to fill the screen with anthological scenes, like the bar fight, the "Quedate Aqui" song and the final showdown. The movie is a comedy, even in the action scenes. I guarantee it, it's two hours of fun and a visible influence of the Westerns and B-Movies in someone's talent. Cracking good fun, which becomes addictive. Memorable movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Robert Rodriguez's sequel-cum-remake of El Mariachi.

8/10
Author: Joseph P. Ulibas (sirjosephu@aol.com) from Sacramento, CA
16 August 2005

Desperado (1995) was a fun and big budgeted version of Desperado. Robert Rodriguez has fun with the film and the characters from El MARIACHI. Antonio Banderas stars as the mythical El Mariachi whilst Salma Hayyek co-stars as his love interest. Cheech Marin, Danny Trejo, Steve Buscemi and Quentin Tarantino are among the other stars who make guest star appearances.

El Mariachi is hiding out in another small desert town. He's become a legendary vigilante who's still seeking out justice for his dead girlfriend. He has a companion (Steve Buscemi) who helps him out find those who were connected to the boss from the first film. During one of his hits, a hired gun from another crime family comes into town (Danny Trejo). He also fits the description of El Mariachi (somewhat). A local book dealer (Salma Hayek) crosses paths with the legendary crime fighter. Who is the man behind all of El Mariachi's sorrow? Why is he so desperate to single handedly trying to crush the crime in the area? How does he do it by himself? Is he that good? To find out the answers for all of these questions you'll just have to watch DESPERADO.

A fun second parter to EL MARIACHI. Unlike most sequels, you don't need to watch the first film to enjoy this one. It's just another entertaining film that'll burn some time. Enjoy!

Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

The best all-round film of the three...

7/10
Author: Rob_Taylor
20 May 2004

After watching El Mariachi, it was easy to see the improvement in production values between the two. Not surprising, considering the difference in the price tag of the two films. But, as I pointed out in my El Mariachi review, money isn't everything.

Although better visually, Desperado benefits from better actors who bring more life to the characters. The overall effect, given another reasonable plot, is to make a much more polished looking film that deservedly did as well as it did at the box office.

The aforementioned plot is, essentially, the same as the first film when you boil it down - the Mariachi ends up killing a lot of no-good drug-dealers and warlords etc. - and there's the obligatory love interest. But although very similar, this movie was more enjoyable due to it's overall finish and style.

I originally watched this movie some years ago, long before I got to see the original El Mariachi, so I suppose I am a little biased in preferring this one to the the first in that Banderas IS the Mariachi as far as I was concerned. But not to knock the first movie, which tells us the early history of the Mariachi, and is a worthy film in its own right.

Desperado is good, if sometimes a little gory, fun. Nothing to analyse too much, just enjoy. If you have the opportunity, watch the original, then this one and things will make a lot more sense. Desperado has enough back history woven into it to make it a standalone film, but the overall experience is better watching the two back to back.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Watch Out, El Mariachi Is Back!

Author: Chrysanthepop from Fraggle Rock
18 November 2009

Rodriguez follows up 'El Mariachi' with 'Desperado'. Many seem to have preferred the raw look that 'El Mariachi' had and while 'Desperado' is more 'sophisticated' in the making and more polished, that doesn't prevent it from being an awesome action entertainer. For me, it was just as much fun as 'El Mariachi'. Rodriguez does what he does best. He already mentioned that his Mariachi films are a tribute to the western cinema that names like Sergio Leone and Clint Eastwood defined and 'Desperado' works perfectly with its comic book story, quirky characters and over-the-top action sequences. Moving at a rapid pace, the direction and editing are top notch. The cinematography is brilliant too. Antonio Banderas does a good job taking over the role from Carlos Gallardo (who sort of plays his sidekick in this one). However, it is Salma Hayek that steals the show even though the story is dominated by El Mariachi. As Carolina, she is sensual, witty, charming and quite clever too. Hayek delivers a very natural performance and owns each and every one of her scenes. In addition, there are some wonderful cameos by Cheech Marin, Quentin Tarantino, Steve Buscemi and Danny Trejo. Overall, 'Desperado' is full throttle entertainment. This is what an action entertainer is supposed to be.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Decent, but not as good as others would like you to believe.

6/10
Author: callanvass
1 April 2011

Credit IMDb. With this sequel to his prize-winning independent previous film, "El Mariachi," director Robert Rodriquez joins the ranks of Sam Peckinpah and John Woo as a master of slick, glamorized ultra-violence. We pick up the story as a continuation of "El Mariachi," where an itinerant musician, looking for work, gets mistaken for a hit-man and thereby entangled in a web of love, corruption, and death. This time, he is out to avenge the murder of his lover and the maiming of his fretting hand, which occurred at the end of the earlier movie. However, the plot is recapitulated, and again, a case of mistaken identity leads to a very high body count, involvement with a beautiful woman who works for the local drug lord, and finally, the inevitable face-to-face confrontation and bloody showdown.

Desperado is a decent but overrated installment in Rodriguez's infamous trilogy. Action scenes are stylish, Banderas is a bad ass, but I felt a bit cold when it was all done. Some of the scenes wowed me, yet some bored me. Banderas's and Hayek's chemistry was the real story here.

Performances. Antonio Banderas is as cool as ice here. Unlike Once Upon Time in Mexico, he's able to roam free here. He was highly entertaining. Salma Hayek is easy on the eyes, no doubt, but she can also hold her own acting wise. She's sassy, sexy and credible. Cheech Marin has a cool role as a bartender, while Danny Trejo rocks it.

Bottom line. A bit overrated, but the good outweighs the bad for the most part. Settle your expectations and you'll be OK. You might even think it lives up to the hype, but I didn't. Worth a watch.

6 ½ 10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Awesome.

10/10
Author: Doug Galecawitz (dougg@evilnet.net) from Lisle, IL
13 May 1999

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If there's one thing that Desparado does better than 99.5% of movies it's the gun fight sequences. Antonio Banderas is a man on a single minded mission. Much like Travis Bickle in Taxi Driver only not as cool. Banderas does a great job as nameless man with a suitcase full of really cool guns. Great supporting performances by Steve Buscemi (great joke), Danny Trejo (cool with knives), Cheech Marin, and the super sexy Salma Hayek. Good action choreography, writing, directing. Special kudos to the cinematographer and his lighting crew for keeping Antonio Banderas in the dark at the beginning. Tons of great scenes and the afore mentioned gun play. Stole the sleeve gun idea from Taxi Driver. I kind of wish the Desparado's two friends at the end wouldn't have died, they rock. It was a good waste of cool characters. Watch this with Taxi Driver, El Mariachi, and Red Heat. 9.3 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 21:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history