IMDb > American Assassin (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
American Assassin
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
American Assassin More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 64 reviews in total 

21 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

An action/thriller filled with espionage, intrigue and plenty of action

8/10
Author: hollywoodhernandez-70868 from Dallas, Texas
14 September 2017

American Assassin is an action/thriller filled with espionage, intrigue and plenty of action. Dylan O'Brien (The Maze Runner and MTV's Teen Wolf) plays C.I.A. trainee Mitch Rapp. You'll be amazed at the transformation of O'Brien as he buffs up to play the stone cold killer in American Assassin. The movie is based on the best selling novels of Vince Flynn and directed by Michael Cuesta, who also directs the TV series Homeland.

O'Brien's character, Mitch Rapp, becomes a lone wolf who is obsessed with revenge after terrorists kill his girlfriend while they are on vacation on a small island in the Mediterranean. He trains for a year in MMA and with weapons. He is so ruthless that he is kicked out of both his martial arts class and his weapons training class. His plans are to pose as an American who is sympathetic to the cause of Isis so he can get near enough to kill members of their terrorist cells.

While he's making his plans he also being watched by the C.I.A. and they extract him from his first mission in Libya and offer him a chance to be a part of a super secret and elite black ops team. Sanaa Lathan plays Irene Kennedy, a C.I.A. Deputy Director who is in charge of the black ops team and Michael Keaton (who looks fantastic at age 66) is a former Navy Seal who's in charge of training the team. As an ensemble the actors make for a very entertaining movie.

Keaton and his team travel all over the world to stop a terrorist plot between Russia and Iran to build a nuclear weapon. On the mission the team discovers a former black ops team member, only known as "Ghost", who is now a mercenary and is brokering the deal between the two countries. "Ghost", played by Taylor Kitsch (Friday Night Lights) is a former protegee of Keaton who's now seeking revenge against his former mentor and against The United States, a country who he feels betrayed him.

While the cast is strong, it's O'Brien who carries the movie. He's on par with any former actor who's played James Bond except, unlike the Bond characters, he doesn't play his part with any humor or sarcasm. He plays it full out serious. He's a man obsessed with violence and killing, which makes for a very bloody and intense movie.

American Assassin is rated a very strong "R" for violence and it has a run time of 1 hour and 51 minutes. It will keep you enthralled and on the edge of your seat from start to finish. On my "Hollywood Popcorn Scale" I rate American Assassin a JUMBO.

Hollywood Hernandez

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

It's made of clichés but the result is pretty damn good!

8/10
Author: Kapten Video
13 September 2017

Boy (Dylan O'Brien) sees her fiancé killed in terrorist attack and vows bloody revenge. He becomes a CIA counterterrorism agent, training under the seasoned pro (Michael Keaton) whose past suddenly returns to haunt him. Also starring: Yousef 'Joe' Sweid, Sanaa Lathan, David Suchet, Taylor Kitsch, Shiva Negar. Along „Renegades", this is one of the good recent actioneers that has a risk of not finding an audience it deserves. Probably because everybody thinks that yeah, trailer ain't bad, but we've seen enough stuff like this. But wide release is actually around the corner yet, so let's hope for the best. „American Assassin" may have a very typical action thriller trailer, and it's true that the story is made of clichés mostly, but the result is actually very enjoyable. The action is bloody and satisfying, the actors are good and charming, and the characters are just interesting enough to make you care. Almost all of the spy or secret agent action movies I've seen do the mistake of being pretty watchable for the most part but ruining the end: * introducing too many surprise twists to explain the events (= lazy storytelling), * taking itself too seriously (= becoming increasingly dull or heavy- handed), * or favoring often seen tired (how many times have you seen a final shootout on the roof of the building while it's raining, for example?). „American Assassin" never drops the baton, or pacing for that matter, which makes it fresher than most of its ilk. Also, the movie wins greatly by having three cool but not that widely known male actors in leads, one of them older and two younger. Let's examine them one by one, shall we? Kitsch is surely one of the greatest American action stars still unrecognized by the wider audience. He's got the muscle, the looks, the charm – what's not to like? If only his part was bigger. This is the only sad thought I had when the movie ended. You remember Kitsch from „Friday Night Lights" series, HBO's „True Detective" season 2, „John Carter" (as John Carter), „Battleship", Oliver Stone's „Savages", and „The Lone Survivor". Still can't quite recall the face? Told you so. One of the unregonignized greats. Dylan O'Brien in the lead is a star of long-running „Teen Wolf" series and also appears in „The Maze Runner" trilogy. It's good to see him starring in a movie now, and he looks fit to kick ass too! I totally bought him as a young hero. And last but not the least, let's bow down to Michael Keaton, one of the more charismatic movie stars of 1980's and 1990's who's probably not that well-known anymore. But he has lost none of the charm. This measured performance of ruthless counterterrorism veteran is probably the most memorable thing in the movie overall. Maybe it's time for Keaton revival? He's appeared in quite good projects lately – „Birdman", „Spotlight", „The Founder". Playing Vulture in newest „Spider-Man" did not probably hurt either, at least not his bank account. All in all, this movie is one of the rare positive examples where tired and overused clichés find a new life thanks to committed movie makers – CIA, terrorists, trained to kill, nuclear threat, plutonium and all the other blah blah blah is not interesting just by itself anymore. The young hero of „American Assassin" is actually the central character of so far 15 popular political thriller novels, so with any future commercial success, we may have witnessed a birth of a new action man who is interesting enough to compete with Jason Bourne, Jack Ryan, or the others. Director Michael Cuesta is also known for 2011's „Roadie" and 2014's „Kill the Messenger", look them up, both are interesting. So what if the movie is not exactly original? It's watchable and fresh, and the explosive ending is a joy to witness!

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Good, even if it didn't follow the book

8/10
Author: etiennestories
15 September 2017

Other than the names of the central characters, this movie bears only passing resemblance to the book. That being said, it works, most of the time. Mitch Rapp is totally believable. Michael Keaton is in darn good shape for a man his age, and his character is believable.

It's too bad that the producers bowed to the cancer of political correctness and made Irene Kennedy black. That was so out of keeping with the Mitch Rapp books. Shame on Hollywood for bowing to pressure.

All in all, the movie was worth the price of the ticket, and I only hope it does well enough at the box office to ensure that the series continues.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

I saw this film today OH BOY!

10/10
Author: buddyluv-27132 from San Jose, Ca
15 September 2017

I saw this film today OH BOY! It was very good. The acting was superb the fight scenes authentic and there is humor in it as well. The lead actor who I have never heard of was amazing and Michael Keaton is always so solid. Very suspenseful. The professional critics will pan this because it's about killing terrorists which we all know they love being the left wing retards they are. I am goi8ng to save it on Netflicks so when it goes to DVD I can watch it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Right Up There With John Wick 2 As Great Action Movies Of 2017!

10/10
Author: John Reynolds from United States
14 September 2017

I don't rarely rate movies on here, only when the movie has been exceptional or largely exceeded by expectations on what I thought I was going to watch. American Assassin is one of those movies. Going into the theater, I didn't expect much other than a decent action flick maybe something in the lines of Jason Bourne. What I got was a deeper, darker, and FAR more sinister action movie than Bourne ever got to. This is not a "popcorn flick"(I always hated that term), something you just turn your brain off to see people get beat down. Although there is a lot of violence and beating down, this will actually stimulate your brain too. Which makes it far superior to generic Wal Mart Bin Beat Em ups in the 5 dollar cage. All 5 Bourne movies were PG13, a lot of people forget that. American Assassin is rated R and lets it be known. Rated R action movies are usually a lot more realistic. People die not get "beaten up", when someone is stabbed or shot their is blood, and the language used is more realistic, because yes people do curse in anger. It makes the movie far more realistic(as realistic as Hollywood action films can be anyways) and allows you to, at least some extent feel like YOU are part of the action. I will not spoil anything other than to say this is EASILY the best action movie of the year right next to John Wick 2. I have pretty high standards when it comes to action movies, I have been watching them all my life, and personally I felt American Assassin was a great movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Plenty of action and thrills to keep you entertained in a espionage thriller.

9/10
Author: cruise01
15 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

American Assassin is an action packed esponiage thriller that never slows down and even shows that Dylan O'Brien can take on a stone cold killer role. I was very impressed with the movie.

Mitch (Dylan O'Brien) was on a Mediterranean trip with his girlfriend, which he proposes on the beach. Until, a group of terrorists attack on the beach by shooting at every civilian they see. Mitch witnesses his girlfriend getting killed in the attack. A year or so later, Mitch highly trained himself to go on a vengeance after the terrorists that killed his girlfriend. He trained himself through MMA classes until he gets kicked out for being brutal to the other opponent. He is skilled with weaponry at a shoot range until he loses it and walks into the shooting range. And he has a lead to the terrorists responsible. Only to be followed and captured by the CIA. Who tends to recruit him led by Stan (Michael Keaton). While they are on a mission trail in hunting a terrorist that has stolen nuclear material which traces back to a rogue agent named Ghost (Taylor Kitsch). Mitch will stop at nothing to eliminate the threat even if it requires him to disobey his orders.

American Assassin is that type of action film that entertains with putting the main character into a revengeful path. It may not be a memorable plot or worth mentioning. But it is exciting to see a gritty, brutal Dylan O'Brien taking out bad guys. I wont be surprised if this will be his franchise just like there are other spy action movies like Bond or Jason Bourne. The action sequences are brutal; the fight scenes are quick and gritty. Mitch Rapp never holding back in letting a bad guy escape. It is fun to see Dylan O'Brien going through several action set pieces in trying to stop the villain from setting off a nuclear bomb.

Dylan O'Brien may have found his calling in an action franchise. I am glad he did instead of being stuck in the Teen Wolf series. And growing up to be a brute mean machine as a stone cold killer. He is good as an action star and as well as in the Maze Runner movies. Michael Keaton was also good as Mitch Rapp's trainer into the CIA. Sanaa Lathan was also good as Irene, who sees Mitch as a good potential in there team. Taylor Kitsch was good as the villain, who was once in the marines and went rogue against what he stood for.

Like all else, the plot is forgettable. It is kind of an origin story with Mitch Rapp going on a brute path in finding bad guys on his own until he gets recruited. I am sure this plot has been done too many times in other spy action movies. Were the main hero goes in every set piece trying to track down were the bomb is. Or where the bad guy is. And the villain is a rogue agent. I am sure, there are some Jack Ryan movies that may have been similar.

Overall, American Assassin is a really good film. There is plenty of shoot them up action and brutal fight sequences with Dylan O'Brien taking on an action hero role. It definitely is a great start to a franchise, if this was a success. Sure, the plot may have its flaws of being similar or nothing memorable. But it's just pure action packed entertainment.

I rate the film 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Great thriller and true to Vince Flynn's character, Mitch Rapp

10/10
Author: jas-116 from San Francisco, United States
15 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was looking forward to this film, given that I'm a big fan of Vince Flynn's "Mitch Rapp" franchise. The film's portrayal of young Mitch Rapp was true to his character in the books, as was his mentor Stan Hurley. Michael Keaton gave a powerful, great performance as Stan Hurley, and Dylan Obrien is a born action star, as Mitch Rapp. I loved it and look forward to more of this franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

JOHN WICK meets MAN ON FIRE...and God help anybody caught in the middle.

9/10
Author: Carycomic from Torrington, CT, USA
15 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Dylan O'Brien is a relatively new name to me. But, he did a very convincing job portraying Mitch Rapp. A man who trains himself single-mindedly (and almost single-handedly) to track down the terrorist leader responsible for the death of his five-minute fiancé' (along with dozens of other innocent tourists) in Spain eighteen months earlier.

It's a mixed blessing, though, that he tracks down the terrorists posing as an American jihadist sympathizer. Because it makes the CIA aware of his existence. Not to mention, gets him captured--and nearly killed--by his quarry through a bit of overconfidence!

What follows is admittedly pretty predictable. Rescue by counter- terrorist commandos; an offer he can't refuse (train to be an anti- terrorist hit man or go to Federal prison); the training, itself, under ex-Navy SEAL Stan Hurley (enjoyably played by Michael Keaton); and, of course, the literal baptism-by-fire overseas when Team Orion crosses paths with renegade ex-teammate "The Ghost" (almost too-well played by Taylor Kitsch) who has a hidden agenda more shocking than all his accomplices!

I won't spoil the rest of the plot. Suffice it to say that, as end-of-summer blockbusters go (technically, the first day of fall isn't till Sept. 22), this movie is well worth the admission price.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Hopefully, Start Of A New Franchise

8/10
Author: steve beard (stevendbeard@aol.com) from United States
15 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I saw "American Assassin", starring Dylan O'Brien-Teen Wolf_tv, the Maze Runner movies; Sanaa Lathan-Now You See Me 2, AVP:Alien vs. Predator; Taylor Kitsch-Lone Survivor, Snakes on a Plane and Michael Keaton-Spider-Man:Homecoming, The Other Guys.

This is a spy thriller based on a series of books written by Vince Flynn, who died in 2013. He wrote about 15 books covering the adventures of his hero, Mitch Rapp, so this could be the beginning of a new franchise-it certainly ends as if there will be more. Dylan plays Mitch, a 23 year old man that looses his girlfriend to a senseless terrorist attack-they almost kill him, too. Dylan goes single- mindfully into studying martial arts-he goes to MMA classes-and weapons training-all kinds of firearms. He tracks down the responsible parties but almost gets himself killed. Luckily, the CIA bails him out and Sanaa-the lead agent-sees potential in Dylan and sends him to get some intensive training from Michael. His first black ops mission is to stop some very bad people from starting a nuclear war in the Middle East. Oh yeah, the guy calling the shots for the very bad people is called the Ghost and he was a former protégé of Micheal's, so he is kind of a bad-ass. He is played by Taylor. There is lots of action and some great fight scenes. It's rated "R" for violence, torture scenes, language and sexual content-brief nudity-and has a running time of 1 hour & 51 minutes. I'm a big spy fan-Bond is my favorite-and this is a pretty good start for a new franchise-Hopefully! I really enjoyed it and would buy it on Blu-Ray.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining action flick

7/10
Author: peppertreelane from USA
15 September 2017

After reading a few of the negative comments, I was apprehensive about seeing this movie. Glad I trusted my instincts and the previews. Let me make this very simple, as most other reviewers already provide you with a movie synopsis. If you enjoy movies like Die Hard, Jason Bourne, John Wick, Taken, etc. - you'll enjoy this movie. I do enjoy those movies, and I did enjoy this movie. It is exactly what it sets out to be, an entertaining action flick.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history