Aus dem Nichts (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
7 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
Intense film
funnysmeagol17 June 2017
I've been a Faith Akin fan since Giegen Die Wand (Head-On)and I love his rock 'n' roll style. I knew this film was going to be depressing but it also is like a thriller towards the end, which left my heart pumping so loudly. Diane Kruger is a phenomenal actress in this, she is so believable and extreme. There are some clichés/stereotypes in the story which pull it down. I think the effect post-film, was very strong and I couldn't escape fast enough, it was so tense and terrifying.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
From nothing: Bad English language title gives no indication of this powerful story.
carolethecatlover17 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The German title 'From nothing' better expressed as The Emptiness. Literally it is 'out of nothing', even that is better.

Diane Kruger pops up in many English Language and French language films, performing competently and never aging, quite in addition to her day job as Muse to Karl Lagerfeldt. Here, speaking German, looking like a tattooed low life, she is Oscar worthy. She doesn't have much to say, but looks say a thousand words. The camera is so reluctant to leave her face. All the other actors, totally unknown to audiences outside Germany, are superb, her husband, and her lawyer as German born Kurds deserve particular mention for believable honest performances. The story is compelling with a slow burn and very plausible set-backs and twists. There is a court scene that it is impossible to look away from. A lack of familiarity with German legal proceedings makes it all the more riveting. The ending is dramatic and European. This film should be up for 'Best Foreign Language film' Oscar. It deserves a wide release in Australia.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Not Akin's best but still solid
Will Jeffery1 July 2017
After a woman's husband and son die in a bomb attack, her life collapses and she must come to terms with injustice in what is another film about xenophobia, reconciliation and ultimately European identity by German- Turkish writer/director Faith Akin. Diane Kruger delivers a powerhouse performance as she gives her character enough emotional depth without overdoing it to bring her grief and anger to life. Inspired by xenophobic murders in Germany by a neo-Nazi group, the film sets out with good premise, starts strong but then falls into familiar narrative territory before concluding with an ending that would dissatisfy some audiences. It labels itself as a political film but doesn't have a solid stab for it to deliver in what is otherwise an entertaining, sometimes intense picture.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good solid offering from experienced director.
tomdickson18 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The conclusion of this movie wraps up solid story based on activism in Germany in very recent past. It's a tight story that as events we so often see are played out. Technical details in the court case, lone women on revenge, couple of Stereotypes emerge. Hard to match English title with story unless I'm missing something. It's has a real sense of what we hear happening particular in Europe but the world phenomena of war displaced persons.you leave the cinema thinking more tolerance will go along way.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Kruger keeps the film together
filmreviews@web.de7 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"Aus dem Nichts" or "In the Fade" is a German 105-minute movie from this year (2017) and the newest work by writer and director Faith Akin, one of Germany's most famous. He collaborated on the script with the very experienced Hark Bohm again and these two already worked together on Tschick, Akin's previous. The bad news is that I think Tschick is better than this one here, even if this one here will probably be seen by more people because of the contemporarily relevant subject. This film is about the NSU terror as we read in several articles and there is also a reference when the closing credits roll in. But is it really? I personally did not see a great connection other than the offenders being right-wing extremists and the victims having a foreign background. This film was also advertised with it being the first time actress Diane Kruger gave a performance that was entirely in the German language, even if I don't really see a reason to emphasize this so much. Anyway, luckily Kruger is very good. The film can be divided in 3 acts: the attack and immediate aftermath, the court proceedings, the revenge. Kruges has great material in the first and third act and especially in the first, she is tremendous. I am not surprised she won at the prestigious Cannes Film Festival for it.

The middle part is really where she has the least to work with. There is the physical attack on the female defendant, but that did not require great acting honestly. By the way, the ways in which the two defendants were basically almost completely silent throughout the film underlines as well how this is completely Kruger's film. And as for Moschitto, I normally like him a lot more than I did here. There feels something really wrong about the mix of how he was written and how he portrayed the character. It's tough to put an exact finger on it I must say what went wrong there, but it hurt the film overall quite a bit. It feels like in his baity moments, the film is intended to rather please the simple-minded with his speech on one point that is cringeworthily followed by applause in the courtroom. Or also during one scene when we hear him mention some obscenities about what the judge should have said. It's perfectly fine as I would say it fits that the character talks like that when talking to a friend and you sure could call Kruger's character that, but I don't know. It just didn't feel right. And eventually, about the third and last chapter, Kruger again saves it to some extent. The way she follows the duo for revenge is okay, but when she starts building the bomb, it really gets slightly absurd, even if there were references previously about her being skilled technically. Or the back and forth that really the bird convinces her in not killing them initially as a metaphor for innocent victims. It was a nice idea, but the occasion did look pretentious. Honestly, it did not feel believable really. The whole back and forth that also involved her potential suicide down the cliffs during the scene when it was dark. I won't tell you about what she finally decided to go for. I can only say I was definitely curious about her decision, but the way it was done in the last act with the build-up and back and forth really disappointed me a bit.

Still, despite many negative aspects, this was a solid watch. I am generally not too big on Kruger, but she won me over here and she was easily the best thing about the film. As for Akin, this was far from his best efforts though. The film was picked as the German submission for the Oscars, but I personally don't feel it is good enough to warrant a nomination. I can see it make the penultimate list of 9 though. It's tough to predict how much the Academy will like the subject, but I think as a whole the film is just too flawed at times and after coming in second most likely last year, I am not sure Germany is up there again. I personally am not too big on the subject really as I don't see it defining German history or the current state really. Do not mistaken by the high percentages for the AfD recently. Germany and its citizens are more tolerant than they have ever been, perhaps even too tolerant for their own good frequently, but this is taking thing maybe too far now. Even if you make the connection between the NSU and the terrorists in here, then it is nowhere near as defining as the RAF for example back then. Thanks to Kruger (admittedly she also had a really baity/complex character: drugs, grief as a wife, grief as a mother, trouble with parents and parents-in-law, being left alone by the judicial system etc. - it's all there), it is still a pretty good character study as a whole and it deserves to be seen while coming nowhere near must-see territory.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Three Chapter's in a Woman's Life.
Sameir Ali15 December 2017
14th Dubai International Film Festival, 13 December 2017.

Head-On (Gegen die Wand) (2004) is my favorite film, directed by Fatih Akin. When I came to know that his film is showing in Dubai International Film Festival, I decided that am not going to miss this movie.

Nuri is a man not with a clean past. He is married to Katja Sekerci in the prison. But, after their Wedding and having a baby, he is a honest man, living for his loving family. But, a tragic incident happens. A bomb blast kills him and son, leaving Katja alone in great grief. The rest of the film deals with her struggle to find the culprit and revenge.

The film is divided into three chapters. Each one is unique and has it's own distinguished features. The film often reminds me of Krzysztof Kieslowski's Three Colors: Blue (Trois couleurs: Bleu) (1993).

Great performance from the actors especially the lead actress Diane Kruger. Direction, cinematography and all other technical side was really good.

A must watch for all film lovers. #KiduMovie
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Thriller-esque dramatization of a real-life murder case with good cinematography - but it's too populist to reach its full potential
John Johnson28 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Before Mr. Akin scored with "Head On" (2004) and won the Golden Bear, he was regarded as an entertainer with limited artistic ambitions - he even called himself a "commercial filmmaker" in an old interview. But the big award and the media frenzy suddenly made him 'the next hope of German cinema'. Since then Akin has struggled to live up to these ultra-high expectations, because he's only a populist filmmaker at heart, who likes to entertain. Nothing wrong with that.

Akin's cinema is usually more cinematic and emotional than the work of other German filmmakers. In his best moments, Akin was able to create gritty drama about the migrant experience in Germany. But in his worst moments Akin's writing is poor and his films become vulgar. "In the Fade" contains both his strong and weak sides.

His screenplays and direction always were inspired and informed by other filmmakers, for example in "Short Sharp Shock" (1998) he used Scorsese's "Mean Streets" (1973) as the model: One scene is even an exact replica of a scene in Scorsese's film. "The Edge of Heaven" is a multiple-stories feature inspired by Iñárritu's early work. For the thriller-esque "In the Fade" Akin has probably studied Brian DePalma's films carefully: The cinematography reminded me often of DePalma, not only because Akin decided to use DePalma's 'trademark' split-focus lenses for specific shots, too. The style works well. Rainer Klausmann's gritty, but precise cinematography looks good and the film gains a poetic quality through it without sacrificing realism.

Much has been made out of the performance of Diane Kruger - and she's intense in the part. But why did Akin cast a former top model like Kruger and marries her to a Turkish ex-con? It was too hard for me to suspend my disbelief. With better cast leads and with a less annoying 'cute' kid as their son, this would have been so much better...

There are other credibility problems, for example the rather poor dialogue. It didn't sound real to me. There was plenty of opportunity here for good and serious dialogue, but you don't get much beyond crude genre lines and profanities.

The direction - especially in the courtroom scenes - is uneven and some over-the-top performances are slightly misjudged. A few times, I had to laugh, but I'm pretty sure, that was not Akin's intention, was it? It's not the actors' fault, but a case of a director who often doesn't know when 'too much' is really too much.

Mr.Akin made the same mistake here of pressing important political subject matter into old genre formula like in "The Cut" (2014), which dealt with the Armenian Genocide. Except there was little in "The Cut", that gave you an idea, that what happened in 1915 in the Ottoman Empire was the carefully planned and executed mass murder of 1,5 million Armenians by the Turkish rulers. The result was an epic designed like a John Ford 'western' that - while made with good intentions and worth seeing - pleased and educated only few people.

At least, "In the Fade" is not boring: The committed performance of Diane Kruger and the beautiful formalism of Rainer Klausmann's edgy and elegant cinematography save this populist piece of cinema from its more vulgar side, but this subject deserved a better film.

Maybe next time, Mr. Akin.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews