(IV) (2015)


New Chitose Airport Animation Festival Unveils Competition Lineup

The fourth edition of the New Chitose Airport Intl. Animation Festival has announced 35 titles in international competition at the event, including works by Koji Yamamura, Daisy Jacobs, and David O’Reilly (“Her”).

The festival will be held Nov. 2-5 in the terminal building at the New Chitose Airport in Hokkaido, Japan. For this year’s edition, a total of 2,037 titles were submitted for competition from 85 territories around the world. The festival has selected 35 titles for the international competition, nine for the family competition, and 13 for the Japan competition.

The selections include “Notes on Monstropedia,” directed by Yamamura, a major Japanese animation writer, and Phil Mulloy’s “Endgame.” Other selections are “Everything” by O’Reilly, who worked on Spike Jonze’s movie “Her,” and “The Full Story” (pictured) by British directors Daisy Jacobs and Chris Wilder. Jacobs has won many awards with “The Bigger Picture” (2014).

The five competition judges are Liu Jian from China, Igor
See full article at Variety - Film News »

Tallinn: Russia’s Igor Kovalyov wins at Animated Dreams

  • ScreenDaily
Black Nights festival’s animation strand has unveiled its 2016 winners.

The 18th edition of the Animated Dreams festival at Tallinn Black Nights (Nov 11-27) has revealed its winners.

Ukrainian-born Russian director Igor Kovalyov took the top prize for his 20-minute short film Before Love [pictured], which had its premiere at the Holland Animation Film Festival earlier this year

Devised around a classic love triangle, the film follows a construction worker on a scaffold who observes a young woman spying on a man.

Kovalyov is an experienced animator, having worked on TV series The Rugrats between 1992 and 2006 as well as two spin-off features from that franchise and The Wild Thornberrys Movie. He has also directed multiple short films, including Milch in 2005, which was nominated for an Annie Award.

The Animated Dreams competition jury consisted of Giannalberto Bendazzi (Italy), Pedro Rivero (Spain) and Agne Nelk (Estonia). They commented that the prize was awarded to Before Love for “the smart way it
See full article at ScreenDaily »

See also

Showtimes | External Sites